Who we are

Formed in 2003, Bury St Edmunds Town Council comprises 17 Councillors to represent the nine wards of the town.  Within this website you will read of the specific areas of service undertaken by the Town Council but undoubtedly its greatest strength is its commitment to meeting community needs and expectations.  This commitment comes from the Council’s desire to provide its townspeople with relevant services in a manner that is fair, equal, allows community enjoyment and gives value for money.  In support of this vision, the Council seeks to fulfill its statutory and community requirements, working with the community and in partnership.

Bury St Edmunds Town Council deals with the town of Bury St Edmunds only and as a Parish/Town council is sometimes referred to as the ‘3rd tier of Local Government’ after Suffolk County Council and St Edmundsbury Borough Council (see below for more details).

The town itself is split into 9 Wards; ABBEYGATE, EASTGATE, MINDEN, MORETON HALL, NORTHGATE, RISBYGATE, SOUTHGATE, ST OLAVES and WESTGATE and each ward has one or more Councillors.  Click here to view the names and contact details of all of the Town Councillors

The Town Council's offices are on Angel Hill, opposite the War Memorial and are normally staffed between 9am and 4pm Monday to Friday but commitments may mean that the office is unattended during these periods.  For further details of Bury St Edmunds Town Council's Staff Team click here.

Postal Address:                                                  
Bury St Edmunds Town Council
Town Council Offices
7 Angel Hill
Bury St Edmunds
IP33 1UZ

Telephone: 01284 725111

Email: info@burystedmunds.suffolk.gov.uk

Other people who can assist you
The townspeople of Bury St Edmunds also benefit from services provided by other organisations, for example: